It All Depends Where You Stop Your Story

Do you like stories that end all wrapped up with a ‘happily ever after’, or do you prefer a little left to the imagination?

Most people want to see the characters they’ve invested their time reading about to finish on a high, nothing left unsaid, their lives happily wrapped up with a metaphorical bow on top.

I have recently finished the third and final book in the Reborn Trilogy, and it wasn’t without a sense of loss. Everything ties together nicely, although there are a fair few twists, turns and surprises along the way, but as I wrote the final words I felt like I was losing touch with close friends. I’ve come to know everything about these characters, who came to life on the blank pages of a manuscript, and evolved over the course of three books and more than 1000 pages. The time I spent telling their stories, before I went to bed, on my lunch break at work, long into the night at the weekend, all of these moments resemble grabbing a coffee with friends, or meeting mates for a beer in the pub, or just catching up over a quick lunch.

Even though these are fictional characters, there’s a certain sense of loss I think most authors feel when they put pen to paper in their story for the last time, whether it’s a series or a standalone novel. I hope the characters in the Reborn Trilogy are as real to my readers as they are to me, despite their paranormal existence.

Although I have plans for a future spin-off series, I’m currently working on a very different paranormal novel, based on real events, and though the characters are still fictional, they loosely relate to the very real people who lived through the bizarre and inexplicable occurrences that are the basis of the book. I wonder if knowing these people in real life will make a difference to how I feel when I finish this book…I’ll let you know when I get there.

Hidden Shadows is due for release in the autumn, and I hope you’ll enjoy it. It’s less fantasy-based than the Reborn Trilogy, and perhaps aimed at a slightly older audience. My daughters loved Reborn, Reawakened, and Renewed, (yes, they got a sneak read of the final book in the trilogy!) but I don’t think I’ll let them read Hidden Shadows until they’re a little older.

Leave a Reply

