Tea, Biscuits, and a Good Book

Today is National Tea Day back home in the UK. Like my fellow Englishmen, I love tea. 165 million cups of tea are drunk every day in Britain, which roughly equates to one cup of tea every day for every person in Britain. In the US, more than 80% of tea is iced tea, often of the flavored or bottled variety, but the hot cuppa is seeing an increase thanks to its many health benefits, and now approximately half a cup of hot tea per person is drunk daily in the US.

Of course, I’ll take any excuse to enjoy a cuppa, and as it’s National Tea Day…well, as Rupert Brooke states in his Poem, The Soldier, there really is “some corner of a foreign field that is forever England.” That corner is right here in sunny California, enjoying a fresh cuppa, some chocolate biscuits, and a paperback book.

Happy National Tea Day to all my fellow Brits, both home and abroad!

2 thoughts on “Tea, Biscuits, and a Good Book

  1. I’m from North America and I destroy tea. I was big on coffee, then made the switch a couple years ago. I don’t know if its blasphemous or not, but I like dunking my biscuits in it.

    Like

    1. Tea is made for biscuit dunking! You need the right biscuits though, there’s nothing worse than your biscuit dropping into your cuppa and sinking to the bottom (we’ve all experienced that!)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

