A Day Without Women? Get Real!

First, a word of warning. I like being a woman. I like that men will give up their seats for me, or hold a door open, or carry my bags. I’m more than capable of doing it myself – I’m not feeble or pathetic – but I like being treated like a woman, because I am a woman. So, if you’re hoping for a strong feminist blog about the Day Without Women, you might want to skip the rest of this.

Like the majority of women, today has been a normal day. I got up, showered and got dressed. I kick-started my brain with a strong coffee while the kids had their breakfast, and once everyone was at their various schools, I started work.

This is my normal routine, and I’m neither inclined, nor in a position to do it differently just because a group of feminists tell me I should. For starters, as a single mother, I’d be leaving my kids parentless for the day, and that isn’t happening.

The fact is, the ideal behind the Day without women was flawed before it even got started. American women aren’t as a whole oppressed; individuals have their challenges but overall, American women have it pretty good. My value as a human has nothing to do with my sex organs. The people who matter (friends, family etc) know and appreciate what I do, and where they’d be without me. Those who felt inclined to march should maybe first look closer to home if they’re struggling with their value.

Today, the news has reported schools that have closed as teachers have chosen to march, waiting times at hospitals are triple as female medical staff have taken the day off, and parents who aren’t partaking in this feminist action are struggling to find childcare.

In the meantime, the economy hasn’t tanked, men haven’t begged and pleaded for the return of their womenfolk, and anyone who shirked off work today can look forward to a heavier workload tomorrow while they catch up.

There’s cause to protest against everything these days, even if there’s no real reason to. As Hillary Clinton said last year, “If you tell people something long enough, with great passion, they get perhaps inclined to believe it.”

The irony is, American women aren’t oppressed, but they are being manipulated by extreme American women to think they are…and isn’t that very manipulation what today is meant to be protesting against?

 

Leave a Reply

