5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Inspirations – Five Kids

Many writers get their inspiration from everyday events, people, and life experiences. We’ve all heard the advice, write what you know about, and while (hopefully) most of us don’t take it literally (we write about the emotions our lives have drawn out, not about the events that caused the emotions), we probably all take inspiration from what we know.

If you follow me on Twitter you’ll know I have 5 kids, 4 horses, 3 dogs, and 2 cats, so I thought I’d give a little insight in a series of blogs as to how I get a lot of my inspiration from my crazy little family, starting with the five kids.

If you have kids you’ll know they are singularly more responsible for evoking every possible emotion known to mankind than anything else in life…and they do it without even trying! Love, pride, joy, happiness, embarrassment, frustration, despair, irritation, and anger (the grit-your-teeth-and-breathe kind!) And that’s just a few of the feelings parenthood in general, and kids specifically, can draw out.

Some emotions we cherish, some we regret, but all are very real, and the more feelings we experience, the more depth and authenticity we can add to our writing.

So, to my five gorgeous kids, thank you for making me laugh, cry, glow with pride, cringe with embarrassment, and scream with frustration. You’ve given character to my characters.

Leave a Reply

