Everyone has a book in them…yes, that old cliché!

I think I first heard this when I was a young teenager, which is far too many years ago to remember who actually said it, maybe my mother, maybe a teacher. The point is, like most clichés, it’s a phrase that we all come across at some point in our lives, and as a cliché is, by its very definition, an overused saying, how true is it?

There are two different ways of looking at it. There’s the Jodi Picoult view, ‘everyone has a book in them, but it doesn’t do any good until you pry it out of them’, and then there’s the Christopher Hitchens view, ‘everyone has a book in them, but in most cases that’s where it should stay’.

On the one hand, Picoult suggests many people are unaware of the potential novel hidden in their subconscious, while on the other hand, Hitchens thinks most people’s stories are of no interest to the masses.

Personally, I think both viewpoints are a load of old cobblers (aka nonsense!) I find writing cathartic. I also think it’s essential in the education of our youth, an effective form of communication in the professional and private lives of our adulthood, and a proven way to stay sharp as we slow into old age.

So go ahead, write your story. It doesn’t need to become a best-seller, it doesn’t even need to be published. It can be packed with laughter, or tears, love or loneliness, animals or children, or it can be boring as hell. It doesn’t matter! Write your story because we’re only here for a short time, and someone will be glad you did.

 

One thought on “Everyone has a book in them…yes, that old cliché!

  1. I think someone finding that novel within is akin to someone finding that voice within. And so it follows that anyone can write, just as anyone can sing. However, without practice and persistence, no one would want to hear me sing, just as no one would want to read my writing. But the bigger question is: so what? I can’t hold a note, but that doesn’t stop me from singing in the shower. I don’t write for others to read – I write for myself. Writing allows adults to continue that “pretend” game we learned as kids, and it also allows us to try to answer all those “what if” questions that permeate our imaginations!

    As for myself, I will continue to write, and I will continue to sing in the shower.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

