Clouds smell like..?

I was cleaning out the cupboards today, and came across a pile of books my children have had ‘published’ at school over the years. One of my favorites was written by my eldest daughter in First Grade, based on a conversation we’d had one day.

One lazy Sunday she’d climbed into bed and snuggled up to me. She lay there for a minute, and I could almost hear her thinking before she looked at me, and said, “Mummy, you smell like clouds.”

Now, I’ve heard kids say their mother smelled like cookies, or flowers, or cocoa, but clouds? That was a new one on me, so I calmly asked her what clouds smelled like. She smiled up at me, her eyes big and sincere, and replied, “Clouds smell like angels, of course!”

I think my daughter has a novel or two in her future.

Leave a Reply

